Districts where we work

AF7O0847Districts and how they were selected

In the next 5 years, under Phase 11, the Programme will be present in 55 districts in total. These include:

The 15 pilot districts: Amudat, Apac, Kaberamaido, Katakwi, Kiboga, Kole, Kyankwanzi, Kyegegwa, Kyenjojo, Moroto, Nakapiripirit, Napak, Nebbi , Zombo and Yumbe

Roll out districts: 2015/16 FY 2015/16: Kaabong, Abim, Kotido, Koboko, Gulu, Pader, Agago, Lamwo, Amolatar, Pallisa, Amuria, Kween, Namayingo, Mayuge, Kamuli, Kayunga, Nakasongola, Kibaale, Kisoro and Bundibugyo.

FY2016/17: Kitgum, Nakaseke, Kabale, Bugiri, and Amuru.

FY 2017/18: Dokolo, Sembabule, Kasese, Sheema and Mubende.

FY2018/19: Alebtong, Adjumani, Otuke, Moyo and Kumi.

FY 2019/20:  Nwoya, Arua, Mbale, Tororo and Kibuku.

How the new districts were selected

By the time of selecting the new districts for the Programme (June-July 2015), the 2014 National Population & Housing Census provisional results at district levels, were not yet available. The Programme therefore used the district specific poverty headcounts generated in 2005 by the Uganda Bureau of Statistics. The selection of individual districts used a composite poverty and vulnerability index based on the national population census and household survey data and other indicators of vulnerability, human development and empowerment.

The composite poverty and vulnerability score took into consideration proportion of children, orphans, children enrolled in school, older persons, risky births, households within 5 kilometers to a health facility and households beyond 5 kilometers from a health facility. The derived district combined index was then ranked by region. From this result districts with a high combined index by region were considered the most vulnerable and were selected to enlist in the program first

Translate »